Elsewhere on the internet...

The League of Reason has some social media accounts! You can find us on Facebook or on Twitter for some interesting links and things.

From Where I Sit: Users

[ 19 posts ] 
From Where I Sit: Users
DepricatedZeroChat ModeratorUser avatarPosts: 1333Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 11:43 amLocation: Cincinnati, OH Gender: Pinecone

Post From Where I Sit: Users

I've been working Tech Support for the past 5 years, and helping my friends and family with their computers for far longer. In my time I've come to realize that there are four types of base users in the world.

Now before I get in to them, lets analyze my process first. Some of my earliest customer service training came from YUM! Brands and their Customer Mania 'philosophy.' Honestly, it's pretty sensible and I apply the concept and intent of CHAMPS to my work, even if it isn't cooking. That said, I'm an awesome tech and I even have a few raving fan customers. But what do I do that's so awesome?

A lot of things. Maybe another time I'll post how I address customers. One goal I make of every call is to educate each user so that they don't just make the same mistake again. This alone is wildly different than some of my coworkers - many of whom don't even verify that the customer they were just talking to was able to log in with the password they reset.

Which brings me to the topic at hand. The types of users I run in to, are distinct in how they learn.

Type 1) The Tech Savvy
These users know what they're doing. Really. I mean that. This would be a call from a net admin or another support agent. Occasionally you get users who aren't involved in the network hierarchy who really do know what they're doing, too. There's not too much to say about these guys. If the error is on their end, they'll typically ask what they had done wrong - or reason it out - long before you get around to teaching them to avoid the mistake.

Type 2) The Technojoy Club